Research Guides: Hearing and Speech Sciences: Databases & Articles

Core Databases for Hearing and Speech Sciences

Use the following databases to locate journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings and more related to your topic. Consult Database Finderfor the full list of available Hearing and Speech Sciences databases.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is an online source for full text nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database contains 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, as well as searchable cited references, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Time span: 1937-present.
This database does not contain author first names. A search on 'Rice, Flora' will find records with 'Rice, F' or 'Rice, FM' in the author field. You can't type in 'Rice, Flora C'; you'll get zero hits.
ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. It also provides the full text of more than 2,200 ERIC Digests. Covers 1966 - present. NOTE: Access to full text documents is currently unavailable from the ERIC database for items with ED accession numbers. The provider for ERIC has disabled access to full text content including pdfs due to privacy concerns and is working to make pdf content available again.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Includes citations and abstracts for journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews of books and other media. Includes linguistics (nature and structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, spelling, phonetics); speech, language and hearing pathology. Covers 1973 - present.
MEDLINE
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Covers 1966 - present.
PsycINFO
The most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covers 1887 - present.
Web of Science Core Collection
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Covers 1945 - present.

Supplemental Databases for Hearing and Speech Sciences

The following databases may also contain materials of interest in the areas of Hearing and Speech Sciences. Consult Database Finder for the full list of available Hearing and Speech Sciences databases.

Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Includes nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Covers 1861 - present; full-text available 1997 - present.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Consists of full-text descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of more than 2,200 assessment tools. Includes "Tests in Print". Covers 1985 - present.
Google Scholar
Searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories. Accessing Google Scholar while logged in using your UMD userid/password will allow you to access resources not otherwise available off-campus.

Finding the Full Text of Your Article

Searching for articles and journals

If you already know the title of a specific article, or wish to locate a journal by name, this link (above) will take you to the search form.

Your journal or article may be part of a database. Databases are subscription resources that bring together articles from a variety of journals, magazines, newspapers and trade publications into one place with a sophisticated search engine.

When you find an article you like in any of the Libraries' databases, just click on "Find It" to locate the full text wherever it is available. If the article is not available electronically or in the Libraries' print collections, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library.

Interlibrary Loan