Skip to main content

Special Education

Writing a paper? Looking for books or articles? Need help citing your sources? This guide can help!

Juvenile Collection

The Juvenile Collection houses approximately 8,980 books. The Collection is located in McKeldin Library on the first floor in the Current Periodical Room. It consists of materials intended for children in pre-school through tenth grade. The Juvenile Collection has circulating and noncirculating books.

The Juvenile Award collection is a small non-circulating collection of Newbery and Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor books with the call number, 810. Each award book has a circulating copy located under another call number.

The collection's strength is its award winning titles, such as the Newbery, Caldecott, Corretta Scott King Award and Pura Belpre Award.

The collection's weakness is the limited number of books within the collection. Being such a small collection, if you are unable to locate children books on a specific topic or a specific title, don't forget to check the holdings on the other USMAI libraries.

Call Numbers in the Juvenile Collection

    The most confusing aspect of the Collection is understanding the Call Numbers. You will find books with the following call numbers: Bio , Easy, Fic , Dewey Decimal Call Numbers, Library of Congress Call Numbers.

    When you go to the shelves to locate the book, the books are arranged in the following call number order:

      1. Bio [Biographies]
      2. Easy [Picture Books]
      3. Fic [Fiction]
      4. Dewey Decimal Call Numbers [000=999]
      5. Library of Congress Call Numbers [A-Z]
      6. Juvenile Award (810) NON-CIRCULATING BOOKS

International Children's Digital Library (ICDL)


Read children's books from all over the world. The Library offers free access to exemplary works from more than 42 countries. The ICDL collection includes 4431 books in 54 languages.