Skip to main content

Women's Studies Research Guide

guide to women's studies research

Mck Periodicals Stacks = movable shelving,  check the stack directory for floor location
M-film = microfilm,  held in the Periodicals Room on the first floor of McKeldin

Call Number = TT500.V7
Mck Periodical Stacks = 1954-1991
M-film = 1892-1952; 1975-2007


Call Number = TT500.S4
Mck Periodical Stacks = 1959-1972; 1977-1992
M-film = 1973 - 1976


Call Number = AP2 .L135
M-film = 1889 - 1991


Call Number = AP2 .R41
M-film = 1960-1996


Other Sources:

Old Line (1930's-1962) Student Magazine on UMD's campus. Often includes pictures of young female students and has articles addressed to them or about them.
Special Collections in Hornbake Library
UPub call number S36.010

Nancy Drew and Friends Digital Exhibit (shows available girls series books at Hornbake)

University of Maryland Special Collections Pinterest

a. Stepford Wives, Women and Gender in the 20th Century Pinterest page
Images from out collection and other University's collections of women during the "stepford wives" era
http://www.pinterest.com/speccollumd/stepford-wives-women-and-gender-in-the-20th-centur/

b. Nancy Drew and Friends Pinterest Page
A sample of book covers from the online exhibit
http://www.pinterest.com/speccollumd/nancy-drew-and-friends/

The Cosmopolitans (and Elle magazine, perhaps a few others) are located in an archival collection called First Appearances. The reason we have them is because they feature early works by famous authors. The best way to find them is to look through the finding aid. 

 The link to the finding aid is http://hdl.handle.net/1903.1/13957

Do ctrl-F and type in the name of the magazine:  cosmopolitan  - to see the date and finding information.