Skip to main content

Women & the American Civil War

A guide to primary and secondary sources on the topic of Women and the American Civil War, with a focus on women in Maryland.

Web Resources

The links on this page will lead you to internal and external resources about women and the Civil War in general, with a focus on women in Maryland. Most of the links listed here provide access to databases, research guides, essays, bibliographies, or digitized primary source collections that are freely accessible on the web without the use of a subscription service.  Some of the links below are sites associated with local historic places to visit in order to feel first-hand feel how the war impacted women. 

Beware of simply doing a Google search or even using Wikipedia as a source. Many sites that a Google search will link you to may turn out not to be credible and may even give you incorrect information. Most professors will not allow you to cite Wikipedia in a paper. However, Wikipedia is a good launching point if you use it to look for sources and references at the bottom of the entry. You should investigate websites for authenticity by checking who their sources are. If you're uncertain about any website, check with your professor before using it as a source. If in doubt, don't use it.

UMD Digital Collections


Primary sources available to the public via the UM Libraries Digital Collections website.

The Internet Archive

 

The UM Libraries recently digitized over 50 books relating to the Civil War in Maryland.  These books are available for viewing at the Internet Archive.  The Internet Archive also contains other digitized books on the Civil War contributed by Libraries worldwide.