Skip to main content

Slavery & Freedom in Maryland

A guide to the history of slavery in Maryland leading up to the Civil War, using materials from the University of Maryland Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

Subject Headings

Use these subject terms when searching the University of Maryland Library online catalog. Select "Subject beginning with..." on the drop-down menu. Then enter one of the terms below.

  • Abolitionists - Maryland  

  • Abolitionists United States Biography 

  • African Americans - Maryland - Economic conditions

  • African Americans Maryland History

  • Antislavery movements - Maryland

  • Douglass, Frederick, 1818-1895

  • Free African Americans Maryland

  • Freedmen - Maryland

  • Fugitive slaves - Maryland

    • Fugitive slaves -- United States -- Biography

    • Maryland - Race relations

    • Maryland State Colonization Society

    • Plantation life - Maryland

    • Slaves - Emancipation - Maryland

    • Slave labor Maryland

    • Slavery - Maryland

    • Slavery -- United States -- History

    • Slavery -- United States -- Personal narratives

    • Tubman, Harriet, 1820?-1913
      • Underground Railroad - Maryland

        Search the UMD Catalog

        Search the library catalog to find books, periodicals, and other material from University of Maryland's libraries.  For a basic search, enter a search term into the box below.  You can search by keyord, author, title, and subject heading.

        Locating Books in the Maryland Room

        You can use the College Park Advanced Search to locate materials using more specific search criteria.  In the word search boxes enter keywords, such as "Maryland Underground Railroad", using the all fields option. 

        For a more narrow search, you can change the all fields option to specify keywords in the title or subject categories. A list of suggested subject headings is available on the right

        Limiting the location to Marylandia & Rare Books will return materials available in the Maryland Room, including items from the Maryland Collection, Rare Books, and Special Collections.  You can also limit the location to Archives to find materials from the Historic Manuscripts Collection.  

        You may also enter the desired year or range of years using the year/s search option.  This is a good way to limit search results to recent publications or early primary source material.

        Searching UMD Theses/Dissertations

        Print versions of Master's theses and Doctoral dissertations completed at the University of Maryland are available in the Maryland Room.  These publications are a rich source of bibliographic information and specialized research.  Theses and dissertations are searchable in the library catalog

        You may also search for dissertations and theses using DRUM: Digital Repository at the University of Maryland. DRUM is searchable by keyword, author, title, department, and date.  It provides online access to digitized dissertations and theses in PDF form.

        For more information about searching theses and dissertations, visit the Theses and Dissertations at University of Maryland Libraries subject guide.