Research Guides: HIST419T (Cooperman): Medieval Readings in Hebrew: Biblical Exegesis: Language Dictionaries

Hebrew / English Dictionaries

The Libraries carry many Hebrew/English and English/Hebrew Dictionaries. Those which are kept in McKeldin Reference section can be used inside the Libraries, but can't be checked out. However there are many copies of Hebrew/English and English/Hebrew dictionaries which are also kept in McKeldin Stacks. Many of those are circulating copies and can be checked out for a period of time depending on your status, please see our Borowing Policies for specific information.

Most Hebrew/English and English/Hebrew dictionaries are housed in about same area based on the first part of their call number. Most often this call number will start with PJ4833. Knowing this call number you can browse the shelves to find a dictionary most useful to you (often it is a personal preference). However there are other Hebrew/English and English/Hebrew dictionaries that have different call numbers and thus are housed in other locations. Usually they are subject specific and surve a very specific purpose, for example business, art, or sciences.

Electronic dictionaries

Morfix

Books

The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew by David J. A. Clines (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Library Stacks | PJ4833 .D53 1993
ISBN: 1850752443
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew: incorporates all Hebrew from the earliest times to c.200 CE; includes all the data from Ben Sira (Ecclesiasticus), the Dead Sea Scrolls and related texts, and the Hebrew inscriptions down to 200 CE; lists and analyses all occurrences of every Hebrew word (with the exception of a few very common words); gives an English translation of every Hebrew word and phrase cited in the dictionary; provides statistics for the number of occurrences of each word in each of the four corpora of Hebrew; concentrates on the common words rather than the rare ones; indexes all the nouns to their verbal root and all the verbs to their derived nouns; is systematically based on modern linguistic principles; contains a word-frequency index and a list of all the sources for the Hebrew language, including all the manuscripts from Qumran; provides a comprehensive bibliography to scholarly studies on individual Hebrew words and an English-Hebrew index; and is available in electronic format and in a large print edition.