Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopaedia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; the Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, and more.
This encyclopedia covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It allows a reader to analyze an author's work as a reflection of the heritage, traditions and experiences of the author's personal life and the beliefs, events, and lifestyles of the United States at the time.
This encyclopedia covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed. It identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.
An encyclopedia of African American literature from its origins to the present. "While most of the entries are on individual authors, the encyclopedia gathers together information about the genres and geographical and cultural environments in which these writers have worked, and the social, political, and aesthetic movements in which they have participated."
Online collection containing scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources and much more. The core content consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, 2nd Edition; and African American National Biography.
The Wiley–Blackwell Encyclopedia of literature comprises individual titles covering key literary genres and periods.. The following titles can be searched individually or together. The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, The Encyclopedia of the Novel, The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies, The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction, The Encyclopedia of British Literature: 1660-1789, The Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature.