Skip to main content

Maryland Maps: A Finding Aid

A guide to maps depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region from the UMD Special Collections in Hornbake Library.

Search Using the Maryland Map Collection Online Database

The Maryland Map Collection is an online database that can be used to search and browse maps from the Maryland Collection, located in Hornbake Library. The database provides information about many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state and local governments. Some selected maps have been digitized and are available on-site. Maps that have not be digitized may be viewed in the Maryland Room.

To search the maps, simply enter keywords or dates in the search box on the upper right side of the screen. 

You may also use the browse maps option, located just below the search box, to sort maps according to cities/towns, counties, countries, states, MD regional, railroads, and rivers/creeks. You may also sort search results according to year, title, or whether there is an available image. Simply click on the appropriate subject heading to sort.

The Digitized Maps link will retrieve all maps available as digitized images. Click on a title to view the full map record and the accompanying image. You can also search within these results by entering keywords or dates in the search box located on the upper right side of the screen.

Search Using the UM Library Catalog

Some Maryland maps have been cataloged and are searchable using the UM Libraries online catalog.

The best way to find Maryland maps with the online Catalog is to use the College Park Advanced Search option. In the word search boxes enter the county, location, or other pertinent terms using the all fields option. For a more narrow search, you can change the all fields option to specify keywords in the title or subject categories.

Next, limit the format to map. Then limit the location to Marylandia & Rare Books. This is a good way to limit search results to maps from the Maryland Collection only. You may also enter the desired year or range of years using the year/s search option.

Online Resources