Skip to main content

Maryland State Publications

Information on Maryland state publications available on the Web and at University of Maryland Libraries

The Maryland Collection

The Maryland Collection in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library is an official depository for the Maryland State Publications Depository and Distribution Program.  Publications from Maryland state government agencies encompass a wide variety of topics, including Maryland economic and demographic information, crime, weather, agriculture, health, education, geology, and transportation.  The collection also encompasses major state task force and committee reports, annual reports for state agencies, and publications of the Maryland General Assembly.

Basic legal resources for the State of Maryland are located in the Maryland Room, including the Annotated Code of Maryland, the Code of Maryland Regulation, Maryland Register, and many other legal and government reference sources for Maryland.

In addition to current state documents, the collection features strong retrospective holdings. Highlights include William Parks' 1727 Compleat Collection of the Laws of Maryland, Thomas Bacon's 1765 Laws of Maryland at Large, early annual reports in the House and Senate Documents series 1836-1920, Progressive Era reports of the Maryland Bureau of Industrial Statistics, and other early laws and documents.

See the Maryland Law Resources guide for more information on legal resources in the collection; see the Maryland Statistics guide for statistics information.

Find Publications in the UM Catalog

To find publications in the University of Maryland catalog, enter your search terms in the box below

The Maryland Collection

The Maryland Collection in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library is an official depository for the Maryland State Publications Depository and Distribution Program.  Publications from Maryland state government agencies encompass a wide variety of topics, including Maryland economic and demographic information, crime, weather, agriculture, health, education, geology, and transportation.  The collection also encompasses major state task force and committee reports, annual reports for state agencies, and publications of the Maryland General Assembly.

Basic legal resources for the State of Maryland are located in the Maryland Room, including the Annotated Code of Maryland, the Code of Maryland Regulation, Maryland Register, and many other legal and government reference sources for Maryland.

In addition to current state documents, the collection features strong retrospective holdings. Highlights include William Parks' 1727 Compleat Collection of the Laws of Maryland, Thomas Bacon's 1765 Laws of Maryland at Large, early annual reports in the House and Senate Documents series 1836-1920, Progressive Era reports of the Maryland Bureau of Industrial Statistics, and other early laws and documents.

See the Maryland Law Resources guide for more information on legal resources in the collection; see the Maryland Statistics guide for statistics information.