Skip to main content

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Collection at UM Libraries

JPRS is a government organization established in 1957 to supply the government with translations of unclassified foreign documents. This is important source material for research in the social sciences, science, political science & intl relations.

Geographic Coverage Areas for Microfilm Collection, 1957 – 1962

Geographic Location Call Number
Afghanistan Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5911
China Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5912
Eastern Europe Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5913
Indonesia Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5914
International Communist Developments Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5915
Mongolia (does not include 1962) Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5916
North Korea Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5918
Soviet Union Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5919
Scholarly Book Translations: Asia Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5921
Scholarly Book Translations: China Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5922
Scholarly Book Translations: Eastern Europe Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5923
Scholarly Book Translations: Soviet Union Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5924

Index I.A. Kyriak, Theodore E. Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm. Annapolis, Md., Research and Microfilm Publication. Gov Ref AS36.U59

Coverage:
This bibliography is a cumulative guide to JPRS publications issued between 1957 and July 1, 1962 which were reproduced by RMP (Research and Microfilm Publications).

Arrangement:
This bibliography arranges JPRS reports and documents in their order of publication.

Access:
The index directs you to a specific microfilm reel.

Example index entry:

JPRS Index IA (Kyriak) Entry

For each document, use the geographic location and the preceding table to determine the microfilm reel's call number. The volume and reel number then direct you to the specific microfilm reel within that call number series. Note: some items will have a subject listing (i.e. Poland Press IV) instead of a volume number.

Index I.B. Area Bibliographies –Supplements of the Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm. (Specific call numbers are indicated in the arrangement table).

Coverage:
These bibliographies are derived from the Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm (Index I.A). They divide the bibliographies by regions, covering China, International Communist Developments, Mongolia and Indonesia, North Korea, and North Vietnam.

Arrangement:
The regional bibliographies contain a subject index and a list of JPRS documents for that region listed in their order of publication. These bibliographies are separated by call number according to the following geographic locations:

Geographic Coverage Areas for Area Bibliographies, 1957 – 1962
Location: Gov Docs Reference Stacks, 4th floor of McKeldin Library
Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
China 1957 – July 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59121
International Communist Developments 1962 Gov Ref AS36.U59151
Mongolia and Indonesia 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS.36U59171
North Korea 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59161
North Vietnam 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59181

Access:
The main entry in these volumes is the bibliography or publication index. The publication index is organized in the same fashion as the previous index (review the Access section of Index I.A). Additionally, there is a subject index in these bibliographies which will identify all documents in the bibliography pertaining to that subject. To access documents from the subject index, refer to the JPRS number and then locate that number in the publication index, which will then lead you to the correct microfilm reel location.

Index I.C. Joint Publications Research Service Translations Catalog Cards in Book Form for the United States. 1957 – 1961. Gov Ref AS36.U5738 1957/61.

Coverage:
This index is a facsimile of catalog cards representing titles published by JPRS between 1957 and 1961 which were deposited in the Library of Congress before the documents were made accessible to the public through Research and Microfilms Publications.

Arrangement:
The cards are arranged by JPRS number with title and contents information for each entry.

Access:
Use this index to locate JPRS numbers and then access to the reels can be made from the publication index (Index I.A.). To access a specific document, follow the same instructions listed in the Access section for Index I.A. To access documents from the subject index, refer to the JPRS number and then locate that number in the publication index, which will then lead you to the correct microfilm reel location.

Notes:
Volume 1 of this series of indexes lists early documents which bear the initials of the producing offices of Washington, D.C. or New York. By February or March of 1960, these symbols were discontinued. Volume 1 of this series begins with the first number of the Washington, D.C. series, includes the New York series, and ends with JPRS number 3879. Volume 2 continues JPRS numbering sequence.