Skip to main content

Theses and Dissertations at University of Maryland Libraries

A guide to finding theses and dissertations written at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Find Print Copies of Theses and Dissertations at UMD Libraries

The following are a few different ways that you can search for print theses and dissertations held by Special Collections and University Archives.

  1. Do an author search if you know the author's name. In Advanced Search, use the search for words in author option or use the browse search author beginning with option.
  2. Do a word search to find relevant items. In Advanced Search, enter pertinent words in word search in all fields or title.
  3. Do a search by Department (for post-1991 works only), using department names as listed on the Authority List. Enter Department name in Advanced Search using the word search option all fields.
    • Check the card catalog in the Maryland Room (entries maintained only up to 1991), under the author or department.
    • Search the UMD Libraries Catalog. Use the College Park Advanced Search feature. Limit format to Theses/Dissertations. Also enter "University of Maryland" in word search option thesis institution/place to limit search to University of Maryland theses and dissertations.
  4. Do a search by call number.
    • All masters theses receive the call number: LD3231.M70m [plus last name and initials of author]
    • All dissertations receive the call number: LD3231.M70d [plus last name and initials of author]
    • Starting in the year 2000, the year the degree was granted was added to the base call number.

Please note: University Archives does not have copies of theses or dissertations available until they appear in the library catalog.

Request Scanned Copies of Print UMD Theses and Dissertations

If a print copy of a UMD thesis or dissertation is held in Severn Library, if it is not embargoed, and if it is not available in DRUM, a scanned copy may be requested.

  1. If you are a UMD student, faculty, or staff member, the easiest way to place your scanning request is through your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services Account. ILL services are free of charge. Use the Scan & Deliver request form within your ILL Services Account or the Request via Interlibrary Loan button in WorldCat UMD. Click here to see if you are eligible for Scan & Deliver service.
  2. If you are affiliated with another academic institution or a library with ILL services, place your request through your library’s ILL. 
  3. If you are unaffiliated with a library, or if you're most comfortable using your Special Collections Account, you can place the scanning request through your Special Collections Account. Follow the steps to request Special Collections and University Archives materials from Severn Library; when you get to step 4, click the button to "Switch to Reproductions Order" at the top of the screen before submitting your request. 

Please note: You may be charged for scanning services if you place the request through your Special Collections Account. If payment is required, a staff member will contact you with a quote before processing your request. See the duplication policies for Special Collections and University Archives for more details. If you have any questions about whether or not you will be charged for your scanning order, please contact us.

Order UMD Theses and Dissertations from ProQuest

If you wish to order a copy of a thesis or dissertation, you can also do so through ProQuest. More than 1 million dissertations and theses are available for purchase bound, unbound, on microfilm, or as a PDF.