Skip to main content

Latin American Studies

This guide provides links to and information about electronic and print resources in Latin American studies available through the University of Maryland Libraries

Area Resources

The Washington, D.C. area is home to many rich scholarly resources in Latin American Studies. The following are some of the major libraries and organizations in the D.C. area that have large collections of materials in Latin American Studies.

 

  • The Organization of American States houses the Columbus Memorial Library, which includes a collection of over 300,000 Latin American related volumes, over 4,500 serial titles (both current and retrospective) and approximately 150,000 government (primarily OAS) documents. All subject areas are well represented.
  • The Inter-American Development Bank which was established in 1959, was created to assist in the economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The IDB's Felipe Herrera Library houses one of the Washington area's three strongest Latin American collections. Its strengths lie in the social sciences, economics, and culture. It includes over 1,200 periodicals and receives numerous Latin American newspapers.
  • The National Agricultural Library houses a large research collection in 19th and 20th century Latin America. In addition to the agricultural sciences it includes collections strong in Latin American agricultural economics, rural production (farm, ranch, and forest), rural economic development, land usage, land colonization, rural education, agricultural law, commerce, and trade. Search the Agricola database for materials held in the NAL collection.
  • The Oliveira Lima Library located on the ground floor of Mullen library at the Catholic University of America is considered one of the best collections of Luso-Brazilian materials in the United States. It is very strong in Brazilian and Portuguese history, literature and culture.
  • The Smithsonian Institution "maintains 22 branch libraries containing more than 1.5 million volumes and 40,000 rare books." The "Smithsonian archives hold an estimated 50,000 cubic feet of paper documents, seven million still photographs, and thousands of films and audio recordings". These collections can be searched through various catalogs in SIRIS the Smithsonian Institution Research Information Systems.
  • Grow, Michael. Scholar's Guide to Washington, D.C. for Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press, 1992. LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks  CALL NUMBER: F1408.G57 1992.  Use this guide to identify other important resources on Latin America and the Caribbean located in Washington, D.C. Included are descriptions of hundreds of collections located in libraries, archives, university research centers, federal agencies and international organizations.