Books, Pamphlets, Broadsides, Ephemera, Manuscript, and Congressional Publications
British and U.S. Primary Sources
This is a guide to American and British primary source material from ca. 1500 to the 20th century available electronically, on microform and in the Special Collections at the University of Maryland Libraries
Artemis Primary Sources is a research platform that allows for cross searching amongst multiple Gale collections. It provides a seamless research experience that enables scholars to search across millions of pages of primary sources in the humanities from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Databases in Artemis include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, and The Times Digital Archive
Database of most imprints (books, pamphlets, and broadsides) published in English anywhere or published in any language in English-speaking countries, appearing from 1473 to 1700. One can search the full ASCII text of selected* documents and view both the text and the corresponding original page images.
A searchable database of accurately keyboarded and tagged editions of the full text of a significant portion of works in the Early English Books Online (EEBO) collection. This is a subset of material included in EEBO, but it has a more robust search engine. To date, the EEBO-TCP project has converted over 25,000 books. A second phase of EEBO-TCP production aims to convert the remaining 44,000 unique monograph titles in the EEBO corpus by 2015.
The Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Parts I and II) is a full-text searchable digital database of over 180,00 English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials, from books and directories, Bibles and sheet music to sermons and advertisements.
This database features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library – a unique archive of almost every play (about 2,500) submitted for license between 1737 and 1824. Included also are correspondence between key theatrical figures, diaries, biographical information, portraits, advertisements, playbills, historical information and the companion texts, The London Stage 1660-1800 and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800.
Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a listing of works published between 1473 and 1800. It covers monographs and serials printed before 1801; printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States of America (1776-1800), Canada, or territories governed by Britain, in all languages; and printed in any other part of the world, wholly or partly in English or other British vernaculars.
A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full PDF downloading of works in the public domain.
Definitive, authoritative editions of literary works and authors’ letters from distinguished academic publishers. Includes correspondence, diaries, memoirs and notebooks from important English authors, including Bacon, Hobbes, Boyle, Locke, Defoe, Fielding, Sterne, Johnson, the Wordsworths, Coleridge, Austen, Tennyson, the Brontės, George Eliot, Newman, Hardy , Yeats and others.
Collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. One of the subsets is a collection on British Philosophy: 1600-1900, which includes the works of John Stuart Mills, Henry Sidgwick and others. All of the print apparatus is included and is fully searchable.
A growing collection of definitive, authoritative editions of literary works and authors’ letters from distinguished academic publishers. Includes works and/or correspondence of important authors such as Jane Austen, Aphra Behn, Charlotte Bronte, Fanny Burney, Mary Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft and others.
Full-text online archive of historical (19th and 20th century) legal treatises from the United States and Great Britain. The collection covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature.
Very comprehensive and valuable collection for researching the literature of economics and business dating from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century. The collection combines two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration. Includes Includes books, serials, pamphlets, and more.
A growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials – monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more – from the “long” nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
The first release in a growing collection of works of important authors such as Jane Austen, Joanna Baillie, Aphra Behn, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Frances Burney, Maria Edgeworth, Elizabeth Gaskell, Eliza Haywood, Elizabeth Inchbald, Caroline Lamb, Harriet Martineau, Florence Nightingale, Mary Robinson, Mary Shelley, Charlotte Smith and Mary Wollstonecraft.
When complete, the collection will include the full text of 100 works by women writers from the early modern period, together with introductions to the individual works and essays on the cultural context of the period. The RWO is a subset of the Women Writiers Online (WWO) database.