Skip to main content

War of 1812 in Maryland

A guide to the University of Maryland, College Park's resources on the War of 1812 in Maryland.

What are Primary Resources?

Primary sources are materials that recorded a historical event as it was happening. They include letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, photos and other immediate accounts. These materials are often located in the Special Collections of a library, rather than in the general collection. On this page, you will find some primary sources available to you about the War of 1812 in Maryland.

To locate newspapers, click on the drop-down menu above or under Primary Resources on the "Databases and Articles" page.

Visit the tutorial, Research Using Primary Sources.

Where Can I Find These Materials?

Hornbake Library houses the campus's Archives and Manuscripts as well as its special book collections, maps and some microfilmed newspapers. The materials in this library are non-circulating, which means that they must be read in the special research room in Hornbake, the Maryland Room.  The Maryland Room has different hours than the library itself, so double-check them before you plan your visit. If possible, call ahead so that the librarians can have the materials on reserve for you.

Click here for a campus map showing library locations.

Examples of Relevant Primary Resources

Manuscripts

Robert Goodloe Harper served in the War of 1812 before becoming a Maryland and then United States senator.  Visit the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library to view this collection.

  • Harper Family Papers - Harper, Robert Goodloe
    Call Number: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Microfilm | CD3029.5.H3 H37


McKeldin Library holds a microform copy of an early printing of the Star-Spangled Banner. Visit the Periodicals area to view this resource.

Manuscripts can be browsed and searched using Archives UM. Please see the box to the right for further instructions and links.

Maps

The Maryland Map Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 2,500 map titles depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region.

Personal Narratives

To find personal narratives of the War of 1812 available at the University of Maryland, go to the library catalog, select "Subject Beginning With..." in the drop-down menu, and type in:

  • United States -- History -- War of 1812 -- Personal narratives

 

For assistance locating other primary sources related to the War of 1812 in Maryland, please visit the Maryland Room, or contact us with your specific questions.