Skip to main content

War of 1812 in Maryland

A guide to the University of Maryland, College Park's resources on the War of 1812 in Maryland.

Primary Source Databases

Primary sources are materials that record a historical event as it happens. These materials provide us with an immediate reaction to and interpretation of historical events, as they occur. Examples include letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, photos and other immediate accounts.

Do not hesitate to contact us with questions about locating primary sources.

Some of these databases are available only at University of Maryland Libraries or remotely to University of Maryland students and staff only, due to licensing agreements.

Secondary Source Databases

Secondary sources are written at a time after the actual historical event they describe occurred. These materials analyze primary sources and draw conclusions from them.  Secondary sources provide us hindsight, and usally incorporate multiple sources of information about the same event.  These materials include history books, journal articles, biographies, encyclopedias, and documentaries--anything that includes a list of sources.

Do not hesitate to contact us with questions about secondary sources.  The following databases are available at University of Maryland Libraries; remote access is limited to UM students and staff only due to licensing agreements.

Some of these databases are available only at University of Maryland Libraries or remotely to University of Maryland students and staff only, due to licensing agreements.

Maryland History and Culture Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of sources. In this case the University of Maryland has compiled a list of periodical articles concerning the War of 1812 in Maryland. After you identify an article of interest, you can search for the journal in the library catalog or you can locate each article using Database Finder.