Research Guides: Women in Maryland: Women's Political Papers

Political Papers at UM Special Collections

Special Collections in Hornbake Library specializes in collecting Maryland political papers, specifically those of notable Maryland women congresswomen, state legislators, local politicians, and political and civic organizations related to women. Below is a listing of some of the political papers related to women in Maryland politics that can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room of Hornbake Library.

U.S. senators and congresswomen:

Beverly Barton Butcher Byron Papers (1961-1993) bulk 1975-1992) LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts. Beverly Barton Butcher Byron (born July 27, 1932), a Democrat, was the congresswoman for Maryland’s 6th District from 1979 through 1992. She ran for office to fill the seat of her late husband, Goodloe Byron, who died before his term was complete. A conservative Democrat, Byron rose to become the chair of the House Armed Services subcommittee on Military Personnel and Compensation. She also served on the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs and the Select Committee on Aging. After not winning reelection in 1992, Byron was appointed to be a commissioner on the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission. This commission’s purpose is to transition the military from wartime readiness to peacetime.
Marjorie Sewell Holt papers, 1972-1986 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Congresswoman Holt represented Maryland from 1973 to 1987. She was noted for her leadership in writing national legislation for urban homesteading, in fighting to conserve the Chesapeake Bay, and in curtailing government expenditures. Mrs. Holt also played a nationally significant role in the Republican Party, serving as vice chair of the Platform Committee of the Republican National Conventions in 1976 and 1980 and served as chairwoman of the Reagan-Bush campaign in Maryland for the 1984 election.
Constance A. Morella papers, 1948-2003 (bulk 1996-2002) LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Congresswoman Constance (Connie) A. Morella (Republican) served eight terms in the U.S. House of Representatives, representing the 8th District of Maryland (Montgomery County). During her legislative career, Congresswoman Morella focused her legislative efforts on such issues as scientific research and development, education, the federal workforce, equity for women, and the environment. The files consist of correspondence, newspaper clippings, press releases, photographs, memorabilia, awards, and subject files. This collection is unprocessed, although a preliminary inventory is available.

Maryland state senators and delegates:

Mary Boergers papers, 1980-1996 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Mary Boergers was a delegate and senator to the Maryland General Assembly representing the 17th and 18th Districts of Montgomery County. During her legislative career, Mary Boergers focused on the issues of education, drugs and crime, environment, labor, and women's concerns. She was president of the Women Legislators of Maryland from 1990-1991. In 1994, Boergers ran for Governor of Maryland. The files consist of correspondence, agenda, newspaper clippings, press releases, and subject files. This collection is unprocessed, although a detailed preliminary inventory is available.
Ann R. Hull papers, 1964-1978 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Ann R. Hull, a Democrat, served as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates representing the second district of Prince George's County from 1967 to 1978 and was Speaker Pro Tem of the House during the 1975-1976 session. During the 1990s Hull was a member of the Board of Regents for the University of Maryland. Hull's papers relate both to the House of Delegates and to Prince George's County, and include notes, reports, pamphlets, and clippings. Issues discussed include education, civil rights, juvenile courts, public health facilities, and the Constitutional Convention of 1966-1967.
Jennie M. Forehand papers, 1972-2008 (bulk 1990-2008) LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Jennie M. Forehand was a member of the Maryland Senate from 1995-2007, a democrat representing Montgomery County's seventeenth district. Prior to that, she was a member of the Maryland House of Delegates from 1978-1994. She is a founding member of the National State Legislative Advisory Board on Women and Bioethics. Her papers include documentation pertaining to bills that she supported in areas such as genetics and bio technology, education, health care, transportation, and women's issues. This collection is unprocessed.
Cheryl C. Kagan papers, 1994-2002 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Cheryl C. Kagan was a delegate (Democrat) to the Maryland General Assembly representing the 17th District of Montgomery County. During her legislative career, Cheryl Kagan made women's rights, consumer protection, education and ethics some of her top priorities, and sponsored bills focusing on election law, emergency care for survivors of rape, health insurance for in-vitro fertilization, privacy, and condominiums. The files consist of correspondence, newspaper clippings, press releases, and subject files. This collection is unprocessed, although a preliminary inventory is available.
Helen L. Koss papers, 1970-2002 and undated (bulk 1973-1979) Helen L. Koss (1922-2008) represented Montgomery County in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1971 until her retirement in 1987. She was the first woman appointed to chair a standing committee: the Constitutional and Administrative Law Committee (1979-1987). She sponsored legislation which recognized divorced homemakers as entitled to equal compensation as their former husbands. Additionally, Koss was a proponent of reform in the insurance and housing industries, and sought more equal pay between male and female faculty members. Among the legislation that Koss sponsored during her time in office is the Displaced Homemaker's Bill, which established the first multipurpose center to counsel and train homemakers who experience a loss of income due to divorce, disability, or the death of a spouse. Delegate Koss was inducted into the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame in 1997 for her work promoting gender equality. Major subject areas include women's rights, election laws, and the Displaced Homemakers Bill. The collection is primarily comprised of correspondence, bills and research material, including official committee reports.
Adrienne A. Mandel papers, 1994-2006 (bulk 2000-2005) LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Adrienne A. Mandel, Democrat, represented the 19th District, Montgomery County, Maryland, in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1995 to 2006. She was a member of the Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families, and the chair of the Joint Committee on Health Care Delivery and Financing. Her papers include documentation pertaining to bills that she supported, primarily relating to health care. Other topic areas covered include Jewish issues, action items of importance to Montgomery County, the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, and the Intercounty Connector (ICC). This collection is currently unprocessed.
Lucille Maurer papers, 1942-1995 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Lucille Maurer served as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates and as state treasurer. The collection includes correspondence, reports, minutes, newspaper clippings, and memorabilia. Mrs. Maurer's papers cover such subjects as legislation, women in politics, and fiscal affairs. Lucille Maurer's papers are unprocessed, but a partial preliminary inventory is available.
Pauline Menes papers, 1970-1986 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Pauline H. Menes (1924-2009) was a delegate to the Maryland General Assembly representing the 21st district of Prince George's County from 1966 until 2007. During her legislative career, Delegate Menes focused on the issues of education, health care, the criminal justice system, aging, the arts, and women's concerns. Her papers also deal with the subjects of abortion, battered spouse and divorce legislation, the Metro, rape, the University of Maryland, and the National Women's Conference. The files consist of correspondence, agenda, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, and press releases.
Mary Nock papers, 1959-1974 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Mary Layfield Nock (1903-1987) was a politician (Democrat) who served in the Maryland State Legislature from 1947 through 1974. Nock was an advocate for women's issues, higher education, and the use of television as an educational tool. In addition to serving on various councils, committees, and commissions, Nock was also an honorary member of Soroptimists International, the Maryland Congress of Parents and Teachers, the Delta Kappa Gamma Society, and many others. During her tenure, Mary Nock interacted with such notable figures as John F. Kennedy, Hubert H. Humphrey, George McGovern, and several of Maryland's governors. The collection consists of materials related to her political career, including speeches and addresses, correspondence, clippings, a brochure, a newsletter, and a certificate from the 1960 Democratic National Convention.
Carol S. Petzold papers, 1974-2008 (bulk 1993-2006) LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Carol Stoker Petzold, Democrat, represented the 19th District, Montgomery County, Maryland, in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1987 to 2006. She was a member of the Judiciary Committee and the chair of the Special Committee on Drug and Alcohol Abuse. Her papers include documentation pertaining to bills that she supported in areas such as drug and alcohol abuse, civil rights, fair housing, education, health care, and transportation. Other topic areas covered include the Intercounty Connector (ICC) and the Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission (MNCPPC).

County and local government officials:

Esther Gelman papers, 1983-1986 Esther P. Gelman was a member of the Montgomery County Council from 1974 to 1987, and its first female president. Gelman's papers reflect her political career and the issues with which she was particularly concerned, such as women's issues, human services, and the establishment of a Comprehensive Community Crisis Center in Montgomery County.
Ruth S. Wolf papers, 1968-1973 Ruth S. Wolf was a member of the Prince George's County Board of Education from 1968 to 1973, serving as board president during the 1970-1971 school year. The papers document the activities of the Prince George's County Board of Education and the desegregation of the county public schools. The collection consists of clippings, correspondence, court documents, maps, memoranda, minutes, press releases, publications, reports, statements, statistical information, and working papers.

Other non-elected government positions:

Jo-Ann Orlinsky papers, 1964-1971 Jo Ann Orlinsky (born 1939) was deeply involved in Maryland Democratic politics, serving variously as campaign headquarters director, administrative aide, and campaign scheduling chairman for U. S. Senator Joseph D. Tydings. The collection largely documents her work for Senator Tydings and for the Young Democratic Clubs of Maryland. It contains correspondence, press releases, memoranda, schedules, speeches, hearing transcripts, and newspaper clippings. Topics covered include Orlinsky's tenure on the staff of a Democratic National Committee task force on women's issues, the drafting of a new Maryland Constitution, and Senator Tyding's positions on such issues as civil rights, the environment, world population, and arms reduction negotiations.
Jean Spencer papers, 1963-1973 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts Jean Spencer (1933-1992), a University of Maryland graduate, was an expert in the area of state and local government. In 1966, Governor Tawes selected Spencer to work as staff director of the Commission for the Modernization of the Maryland Government. In 1967, she became the assistant director of the Governor's Task Force on Modern Management under Governor Spiro T. Agnew. Spencer was also the research staff director for the Maryland Constitutional Convention of 1967-1968. While working for Governor Agnew in 1968, Spencer made recommendations to Agnew in favor of reactivating the Commission on the Status of Women, originally formed by Governor Tawes in 1965. In 1969, Spencer followed Agnew to the White House when he was elected vice president for Richard Nixon. As Special Assistant to the Vice President for Research, Spencer was responsible for basic and program research in support of the vie president and his staff. After Agnew resigned in 1973, Spencer became more involved in Maryland's higher education. In 1990, she became the deputy chancellor for the University of Maryland System. Spencer's papers consist of correspondence, memos, clippings, reports, memorabilia, and photographs, primarily from her time with the Office of the Vice President and the Office of the Governor in Maryland.
Sue Fryer Ward papers

Women's Political Organizations Papers

Special Collections also holds the papers of some women's political organizations active in Maryland:

League of Women Voters of Maryland archives, 1910-1985 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts The League of Women Voters of Maryland was founded in 1921, shortly after the passage of the twentieth amendment granting women the vote. The League has antecedents in a number of suffrage organizations, including the Just Government League of Maryland and the Women's Suffrage League of Maryland. Among the controversial areas in which the League has been active over the years are child labor; collective bargaining; food and drug administration; housing; the merit system in civil service; the United Nations; disarmament; the poll tax; civil rights; and the Equal Rights Amendment.
League of Women Voters of Prince George's County archives, 1921-1997 This League, founded in 1921, was the first local League of Women Voters in the state of Maryland. The administrative records of the League include annual reports, minutes, and photographs. In its early years the League was concerned with such issues as charter government, balanced local development, improvement of health services, and the establishment of juvenile correctional facilities. Over time its focus shifted to concern with busing; urban planning and zoning; transportation; housing; public health; public safety; voter services; and environmental quality.
National Organization for Women (NOW) Maryland Chapter archives, 1969-2002 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts The National Organization for Women, Maryland Chapter, formed in the early 1970s as an organization devoted to action for women in areas such as equal rights and responsibilities in all aspects of citizenship, public service, employment, education, and family life, and it includes freedom from discrimination because of race, ethnic origin, age, marital status, sexual preference/orientation, or parenthood.
Women's Action Coalition of Prince George's County archives, 1974-2004 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts The Women's Action Coalition of Prince George's County is an organization that works to prevent disrimination against women. Subjects documented in the files include the International Women's Year, equality, Title IX, multicultural issues, education, and domestic violence. The Coalition's records contain minutes, bylaws, newsletters, and the history of the organization.
Woman's Suburban Democratic Club archives, 1956-2008 LOCATION: Hornbake Library Maryland Room Archives, Historical Manuscripts The Woman's Suburban Democratic Club is a political organization for women in Montgomery County, Maryland. The archives document the group's fundraising, educational, organizing, social, and civic activities. Included are administrative records that record the club's efforts to assist Democratic candidates in winning elections, and to encourage Montgomery County voters to elect Democratic leaders at the local, state, and federal level. The meeting minutes in this collection cover such topics as the club's mission, educational programs, voter registration efforts, luncheon presentations featuring nationally prominent speakers, and campaign activities. The archives of the Woman's Suburban Democratic Club document not only the history of the organization, but the history of Montgomery County, Maryland in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Political Papers at Other State Institutions

Here are some archival resources about women legislators in Maryland held by institutions outside of the University of Maryland, College Park Special Collections.

The Lena Lee Collection
LOCATION: University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law, Thurgood Marshall Law Library, Special Collections
Lena King Lee was a principal, lawyer and Maryland State Delegate from 1966-1982. She founded the Maryland Legislative Black Caucus in 1970.
Abrams, Sen. Rosalie S., Political Papers (MS 112)
LOCATION: The Jewish Museum of Maryland
Rosalie S. Abrams served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1967-1970 and in the Senate from 1970-1984.