Skip to main content

Agriculture in Maryland: Resources in Special Collections

A Selected List of Holdings in Special Collections, University of Maryland Libraries

Food and Nutrition (University of Maryland Libraries)

Primary Sources

Maryland Association for Family and Community Education (MDAFCE) Archives--20th century. Founded in 1938, the Maryland Extension Homekaers Council (MEHC), now known as the Maryland Association for Family and Community Education (MDAFCE), was established to educate rural women of the state of Maryland through an organized fashion with the assistance of the Cooperative Extension Service. This was accomplished through various activities supported by the MEHC and the Cooperative Extension Service such as home demonstration work and the Rural Women's Short Course (RWSC). A large portion of the collection relates to the Rural Women's Short Course, a week-long educational program hosted each June at the University of Maryland, College Park, which endeavored to educate and imrpove the lives of rural women in Maryland. The collection also contains information about related organizations and activities such as the National Association for Family and Community Education (NAFCE), formerly known as the National Extension Homemakers Council (NEHC), and the Associated Country Women of the World. The Maryland Association for Family and Community Education (MDAFCE) Archives consists of annual reports, handbooks, meeting minutes, publications, newspaper clippings, programs, photographs, slides, negatives, and films documenting operations as well as the programs and courses offered by the organization.

Secondary Sources

Nutrition and Food Science

Food and Nutrition (National Agriculture Library)

Primary Sources

Atwater, Wilbur O., Papers. 1865-1993. Atwater (1844-1907) was the first person in the United States to conduct chemical analysis of food and the first chief of the Office of Experiment Stations, USDA, in 1888. As a special agent in charge of nutrition programs for USDA beginning in 1891, he developed plans for studies and experiments in the areas of food nutrition, the effects of food processing on nutrient changes, food consumption studies, and human nutrient requirements and metabolism. His papers contain correspondence, photographs, publications, and data sheets related to his research in the chemical composition of foods, dietary studies, and the respiration calorimeter.

Pennington, Mary E., Papers. 1895-1952. Pennington (1872-1952) was one of the nation's most outstanding food and refrigeration scientists. A specialist in bacteriology and food science, she established the Philadelphia Clinical Laboratory in 1898, servicing some 400 subscribing doctors. In 1905 she was named bacteriological chemist and chief of the Food Research Laboratory of the Department of Agriculture. During World War I, she took an active part in the War Food Administration under Herbert Hoover. From 1923 to 1931 she was director of the Household Refrigeration Bureau of the National Association of Ice Industries. Her papers include articles, government bulletins, and speeches to technical and commercial organizations on the handling, refrigeration, and distribution of perishables.

Stiebeling, Hazel, Papers. 1930-1989. Stiebeling (1896-1989) was a food economist for USDA beginning in 1930 and went on to serve in many capacities for USDA, including chief of USDA's Bureau of Human Nutrition and Home Economics and ARS deputy administrator. She was a pioneer in applying sample survey methods to national nutrition problems in order to determine the food habits of population groups. During the 1930s, she helped devise an emergency plan for feeding the victims of serious droughts in the south. Her research and interest in diet deficiencies in the U.S. led to the development of school lunch programs, and programs for increased consumption of milk, fresh fruit and green vegetables. The papers consist of nutrition articles, family photographs, significant documents and photographs related to her career, a book about her family written by Stiebeling, and a biography of Stiebeling written by Deborah Parry Dale in 1989 as well as other biographical documents.