Skip to main content

Agriculture in Maryland: Resources in Special Collections

A Selected List of Holdings in Special Collections, University of Maryland Libraries

Enviromental Science and Natural Resources (University of Maryland Libraries)

Primary Sources

Guide to Maryland's Environment Collections

Highlights include:

Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Archives--20th century. This non-profit organization was established to promote the preservation of the ecological well-being of the Chesapeake Bay through conserving its natural resources, combating pollution, and educating the public. Important issues documented in the foundation's records include the environment of the Bay, as well as actions proposed and undertaken to eliminate threats to this environment. Other subjects addressed are: the Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant, Piney Point Oil Refinery, development of the Goodwin Islands, and Kent County gravel operations.

Maryland Conservation Council, Archives--20th century. This organization is actively involved in a broad range of environmental issues throughout the state, such as: acid rain, air quality, clean water, hazardous waste, and land use.

Green, Robert Lamar, Papers--20th century. Green was professor and chair of the Department of Agricultural Engineering at the University of Maryland at College Park. He was appointed coordinator of the university's Water Resources Research Center upon its organization in 1965, served as acting director of the Agricultural Experiment Station for several years, and was active in a number of state organizations concerned with the protection of water resources.

Mansueti, Romeo, Papers--20th century. Mansueti was a biologist and research professor at the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory and the University of Maryland. Among his papers are files documenting his research on fish migration, bionomics of freshwater and estuarine fish populations, and the taxonomy and ecology of fish eggs.

Symons, Thomas B., Papers--20th century. Thomas Baddeley Symons (1880-1970), a 1902 graduate of the Maryland Agricultural College, served the University of Maryland for almost seventy-five years. Symons' many offices included state entomologist, dean of the School of Horticulture, director of the Cooperative Extension Service, and dean of the College of Agriculture. He was active in numerous agricultural organizations, including the Maryland Horticultural Society, Maryland State Soil Conservation Committee, and both the National and Maryland State Grange. Symons was acting president of the University of Maryland for nine months in 1954, then a member of its Board of Regents from late 1954 until 1970. Subjects covered in the collection include 4-H activities, the Maryland and National Granges, the Board of Regents of the University of Maryland, the Rotary Club, the Beta Kappa Corporation, and the State Soil Conservation Committee.

Secondary Sources

Maryland and the Environment
Environmental Science
Chesapeake Bay
Environmental Economics, Health, Law, & Policy

Enviromental Science and Natural Resources (National Agriculture Library)

Primary Sources

Cardon, Philip V., Papers. 1910-1961. Among the many positions which Cardon (1889-1965) held with USDA were agronomist for the Bureau of Plant Industry and director of the USDA Graduate School. Beginning in 1953, he served as director general of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. His papers include correspondence, articles, poems, photographs, and material relating to his work in the areas of soil research, forage crop improvements, land use policy, and the USDA Graduate School.

Hough, Franklin Benjamin, Papers. 1870-1884. Hough (1822-1885) was the first physician in Lewis County, New York; forest commissioner, USDA, from 1876-1881, and the chief of the Division of Forestry, USDA, from 1881-83. His papers consist of handwritten correspondence, agreements, and memos. Much of the correspondence deals with forestry matters, and, specifically, Hough's paper on the preservation of forests and cultivation of timber presented to the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1873. This led to Congress passing an appropriation act in 1876 for the commissioner of agriculture to appoint a person (Hough) to make a statistical report on forests and forestry.

Hough, Romeyn B., Papers. 1882-1908. Son of Franklin Benjamin Hough, Romeyn Beck Hough (1857-1924), was a naturalist, author, and businessman in New York state. In 1888, he published the first volume of a series of twelve books titled American Woods, which contained the native and naturalized species of woods in the United States and Canada. This set of volumes was unique in that the books included samples of wood as illustrations. In the scientific world, American Woods was well-received and won numerous awards, including the grand prize at the Paris Exposition in 1889. The papers consist of journals and correspondence.

Kellogg, Charles E., Papers. 1929-1975. Kellogg (1902-1980) headed the National Cooperative Soil Survey from 1934 - 1971 and was deputy administrator of the Soil Conservation Service, USDA, when he retired. In 1939 he wrote the first edition of the Soil Survey Manual, which was subsequently adopted by soil survey organizations throughout the world. While traveling to other countries to learn farming methods and to assist in agricultural development programs, Kellogg wrote field notes and took photographs of his soil surveys and of other experiences of the trips. This collection contains scripts of his speeches, articles, reviews, reprints, correspondence, field notes, journals, slides, photographs, soil maps, and publications relating to soil science and agriculture. Publications include many of the rare works of soil science pioneers such as Glinka, Ruffin, Evelyn, Young, and Marbut.

Sharpe, C. F. Stewart, Papers. 1935-1943. Sharpe (b. 1907) worked as a soil conservationist in the Climatic and Physiographic Division of the Soil Conservation Service, USDA, from 1935-43. His papers consist of copies of articles, translations, and publications relating to geomorphology and erosion; correspondence and other records produced in the course of work for the Climatic and Physiographic Division; research notes and draft reports of physiographic studies in which Sharpe was involved; copies of published reports authored by Sharpe; and photographs and lantern slides documenting soil erosion studies.

U.S. Forest Service Smokey Bear Collection. 1902-1994. During World War II, the prevalence of human-caused forest fires and the need for wood compelled the United States Forest Service to organize the Cooperative Forest Fire Prevention Campaign. In 1944 as a means of encouraging citizens to participate in fire prevention, the Campaign introduced the symbol of a bear, endowed with the evocative name of Smokey. In the spring of 1950, a real cub became a living representation of Smokey Bear when he was saved from a forest fire. The collection consists of audiovisuals, posters, slides, photographs, posters and cartoons, original artwork, and a wide variety of commercial products, some of which are foreign.

U.S. Forest Service Woodsy Owl Collection. 1974-1987. Woodsy Owl was the USDA Forest Service's anti-pollution symbol. The Forest Service promoted Woodsy Owl's "Give a hoot! Don't pollute." campaign against littering and vandalism in national forests. The collection includes films, slides, negatives, videotapes, posters, original artwork, song sheets, bumper stickers, patches, key rings, campaign materials, costumes, distribution materials, legislation, photograph albums, and other miscellaneous items. Campaign materials consist of publication proposals, drafts, correspondence, newspaper cuts, news releases, newsletters, magazines, and public service announcement statistics and information. This is an unprocessed collection; please contact Special Collections at the National Agriculture Library for additional information.

Secondary Sources

Water And Agriculture Information Center