Skip to main content

Agriculture in Maryland: Resources in Special Collections

A Selected List of Holdings in Special Collections, University of Maryland Libraries

Animal Science and Animal Products (University of Maryland Libraries)

Primary Sources

Animal Science, Department, Records--20th century. The records include correspondence, reports, publications, and budget reports of the Department of Animal Science. This collection is unprocessed.

Chisolm, Julian J., II, Papers--20th century. Chisolm was an instructor in entomology at the University of Maryland from 1943 until 1949. He also acted as the unofficial campus photographer during his tenure at the university. The collection contains images and negatives depicting crabbing and the stages in the shedding of a hard crab's shell, snakes, and amphibians, among other topics.

Horse Racing and Breeding Resource Guide

Jull, Morley A., Papers--20th century. Jull was a professor in the Department of Poultry Science at the University of Maryland from 1917 to 1955. The Jull papers consist of manuscripts, publications, research papers, and photographs. Major topics include poultry research, the poultry industry, duck culture, and mathematics at the University of Maryland. This collection is unprocessed.

Livestock Sanitary Board, Archives--19th and 20th century. The Board, created in 1889, was mainly involved in livestock inspections and disease control. The records consist of minutes, charts, and publications documenting inspections and medical issues relating to livestock.

Mansueti, Romeo, Papers--20th century. Mansueti was a biologist and research professor at the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory and the University of Maryland. Among his papers are files documenting his research on fish migration, bionomics of freshwater and estuarine fish populations, and the taxonomy and ecology of fish eggs.

Maryland Horse Breeders Association, Archives--20th century. The Maryland Horse Breeders Association (MHBA) was founded in 1929 with the goals of promoting, protecting, and educating the Maryland horse industry. The MHBA archives cover such subjects as horse sales, shows, and racing; registration of Maryland-bred horses; Maryland fund bonus payments; and the syndication of stallions.

Maryland State Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry, Archives--19th and 20th century. The first grange in Maryland was established in 1873 as an organization which supported agriculture and causes affecting agriculture. The Patrons of Husbandry especially encouraged participation in youth granges.

Maryland Veterinary Medical Association, Archives--20th century. One of the oldest state veterinary medical associations, Maryland's organization actively advocates state and federal legislation for the advancement of veterinary science. This group is also responsible for establishing standards of veterinary practice within the state.

Poultry Science, Department, Records--20th century. The Department of Poultry Science was founded in 1906 through the Maryland Agricultural Experiment Station. The undergraduate program in Poultry Husbandry began in 1923; the first graduate degrees were awarded in 1940. In 1965, the poultry science curriculum became a course of study within the Department of Animal Science. The records include administrative files, Experiment Station reports, correspondence, research notebooks, photographs, and publications of the department. This collection is unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory is available.

Shorb, Mary S., Papers--20th century. From 1942 to 1944, Shorb was a bacteriologist for the Bureau of Human Nutrition of United States Department of Agriculture, followed by a two-year stint at USDA's Bureau of Dairy Industries. During the years 1947 to 1949, she was the Merck Post-Doctorate Fellow in Poultry Husbandry Nutrition at the University of Maryland. Shorb was a research professor in the Poultry Husbandry Department at the university from 1949 to 1972. The Shorb papers include correspondence, scientific articles, laboratory notes, charts, and photographs. Important subjects include Dr. Shorb's research on vitamin B12, L. lactis, L. bifidus, Trichomonas, chickens, animal nutrition, animal growth, Thalidomide, and pernicious anemia.

Truitt, Reginald V., Papers--20th century. A graduate of the Maryland Agricultural College, Truitt was professor of zoology at the University of Maryland from 1925 to 1941. He founded the Chesapeake Biological Laboratory and directed this facility until his retirement in 1954. This collection documents Truitt's involvement in the Chesapeake Biological Lab, his interest in Worcester County history, relations between university faculty and administration, and zoology curriculum development.

 

Secondary Sources

Animal and Avian Sciences

Animals: Common and Scientific Names

Animal Science, Veterinary Medicine, & Zoology

Animal Science and Animal Products (National Agriculture Library)

Primary Sources

Gwin, James M., Poultry Collection. 1916-1969. Educator, administrator, promoter, and a literature collector in the field of poultry, Gwin (1906-1993) worked in the poultry industry in the following capacities: military procurement officer in World War II, regulatory official in grading and inspection, professor of poultry husbandry, director of extension at the University of Maryland, marketing manager for a major feed supplier, general manager of the Poultry and Egg National Board, and professor of marketing at the University of Illinois, Edwardsville. A charter member of the American Poultry Historical Society, Gwin served as president from 1960-1962. In 1977, he was elected to the American Poultry Hall of Fame. This collection is recognized as one of the world's most nearly complete poultry information resources and contains approximately 50,000 items. It consists primarily of business correspondence pertaining to several poultry associations, catalogs of poultry manufacturing firms, documents about early breeders in the poultry industry, egg and poultry legislation, papers on meetings for different states of the United States, and several other miscellaneous clippings of publications related to the egg and poultry industry.

Hodgson, Ralph E., Papers. Hodgson (1906-1990) worked for the United States Department of Agriculture from 1930-1973. Previous to his studies on dairying in seven countries in Latin America in the early 1940s, he worked on dairy cattle breeding, feeding, and management, and received outstanding recognition for his research on the nutrition of dairy cattle. Among the positions held within USDA, Hodgson was chief, Dairy Husbandry Research Branch and director, Animal Science Research Division. He was associated with virtually every important international activity involving the dairy or livestock industry during his career and served as the liaison officer and chairman of the U.S. delegation to the 13th through 17th International Dairy Congresses. The papers include publications, theses, speeches, reports, notes, trip itineraries, an autobiography, and biographical materials. There are historical materials and photographs on the Dairy Division of the Bureau of Animal Industry, Bureau of Dairying, and the Bureau of Dairy Industry.

Schoening, Harry William, Papers. 1903-1960. Collection contains books, personal correspondence, manuscripts, and other memorabilia of Schoening (b. 1886) who retired from his position as director of the Veterinary Pathology Branch of the Animal Disease and Parasite Research Division, Agricultural Research Service, in 1955. During almost fifty years of service with the USDA, Schoening conducted and supervised important investigations into the causes and prevention of livestock diseases. Most prominent among these projects were those involving hog cholera and foot-and-mouth disease. Schoening served on many international scientific organizations.