Skip to main content

Agriculture in Maryland: Resources in Special Collections

A Selected List of Holdings in Special Collections, University of Maryland Libraries

Bibliography of Maryland Agriculture: 1820-1945

As part of the National Program for the Preservation of Agricultural Literature (NPPAL), staff at the University of Maryland Libraries have compiled a bibliography of the literature of agriculture and rural life in Maryland, published from 1820 through 1945.

Riversdale Bookshelf: Recreating the Library of the Calvert Family, 1803-1838

Riversdale Mansion is an early nineteenth-century house located approximately six miles north of Washington, D.C., between Hyattsville and College Park in Prince George's County, Maryland. Riversdale was home to two generations of Calverts, descendants of Maryland's founding family. George and his Belgian-born wife, Rosalie, moved into the mansion in 1803. Their son, Charles Benedict Calvert, also made Riversdale his home and turned the plantation into an agricultural showcase. 

To compliment the mansion's restored library, this project identifies reading materials that George and Rosalie Calvert may have read while living at Riversdale from 1803 to 1838.

Maryland History and Culture Bibliography

The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography is based on the annual bibliography of Maryand history sources that appears in the Maryland Historical Magazine. Citations in the bibliography largely date from the mid-1970s through 2008; works pre-dating this period were drawn from the first bibliography in the series, which was published in 1973. Some of these articles were published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but coverage is spotty for these earlier years until citations were gathered more systematically, beginning in 1974.

Agriculture in Maryland from the Maryland History and Culture Bibliography